A little festival update

Last month I did a lot of traveling, and did not return to Berlin for one month. Among my travels I played at two wonderful festivals, namely Sonar and Calvi on the rocks. Escaping Berlin’s rainy beginning of summer I arrived in the warm realms of Spain, where I returned to the flat I used to live in during my studies in Barcelona. Sonar 2011 is already the 5th Sonar I’ve visited, and jour fixe of every visit is Wednesday, the day of Red Bull Music Academy’s infamous BBQ at Yacht Club Maritime.

The next days I spent my time in browsing Sonar’s day program, and joining several roof top parties around Barcelona. Some of my highlights were The Brandt Brauer Frick Ensemble’s performance and the deep DJ set of Agoria during the day. Sadly I could not enter anymore Sonar Hall where Tyondai Braxton was playing, but I just heard good feedback. Personally I preferred Sonar day as I enjoyed being outside and stocking up on some sunshine. Thus, I did not go to Sonar night on Friday, also because I knew I was going to spend a lot of time there the following day.


Saturday was our ‘big’ day: Infiné showcase at Sonar night. Rone, Arandel and me went to have a soundcheck at the venue, which was located outside Barcelona’s center, and stayed there the rest of the day to have dinner with most of the other artists, who were playing there. We were quite surprised by our stage as it looked that somebody had taken it from Disneyland: A little rollercoaster for kids surrounded by various Disney-characters, e.g.: Peter Pan and Dumbo. Well, this was not what I had expected but it had its own charm. After playing we stuck around at Sonar night, which was extremely huge, and we went to see Paul Kalkbrenner, who did a massive set in front of 20.000 (?) people. Even though I am not a fan of his music, I was still a bit overwhelmed when he played ‘Sky and Sand’ as his last track in front of so many people- open air with sun rising at the same time. Then it was the turn of James Holden who delivered a diverse mix of electronica and techno, all in tempo 110 bpm.
Thank you Sonar and see you next year again!

Next stop: Calvi. Being the first time to Corsica, I was simply amazed by the beautiful landscape of this island. The festival itself is extremely charming, situated in the pretty town of Calvi. What I really liked about Calvi on the Rocks was that its compact size made it a very accessible and individual festival. While the day events took place at the beaches close to Calvi centre, the night program was set directly under the old, picturesque Bastille of Calvi.

Calvi on the Rocks was my favorite festival ever so far: I fell in love with the island, and moreover there is nothing better than playing on the beach. Also, I am already addicted to this light Corsican rosé- unfortunately the prices for drinks at the festival were rather high. Anyway, fingers crossed that I will return one day!


BYE BYE CALVI!

(photos friendly courtesy of Jose La Galleros, and Vincent)

Leave a Reply

